Coach Pat Dye

When Dye interviewed for the Auburn coaching job, he was asked by a member of the search committee, “How long will it take you to beat Alabama? His reply, famously, was “60 minutes.”


Legendary player and coach, Patrick Fain “Pat” Dye, 80, died June 1, 2020 in Auburn, Alabama.

Per Josh Vitale, June 1, 2020:

“Coach Dye was much more than a Hall of Fame coach and administrator at Auburn. He was an Auburn leader and visionary,” current Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn said.

He embodied what Auburn is about: hard work, toughness and a blue-collar mentality.

“Coach Dye’s impact on Auburn is endless and will stand the test of time.”

Academy of Richmond County

Pat Dye, class of ’56, was born Nov. 6, 1939, in Blythe, GA – the youngest of three brothers who played for the outstanding ARC athletic teams of the ’50’s. Pat excelled in high school football at Richmond Academy in Augusta, Georgia, from 1954-1956 while leading the team to the 1956 3A state championship, serving as team captain. After the 1956 season, he was named All-State, All-America, and Lineman of the Year in Georgia. Dye often called the ‘56 Musketeers ‘’the toughest team I ever played for.’’

High School Stalwart, '54-'56

Besides his football excellence, Pat also placed 2nd for ARC in the state tournament in shot-put and javelin, on the State Championship Track Team.

Pat Dye was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2005 and was inducted into the ARC Hall of Fame in 2012:  2012 ARC Hall of Fame.

UGA - A Star among Stars

Pat followed in the footsteps of his two older brothers, Wayne and Nat, and played football at the University of Georgia 1957-1960, He was a two-way starter as an offensive lineman and linebacker for Coach Wally Butts.  He led UGA to the 1959 SEC Championship and an Orange Bowl triumph over Missouri, earning honors as a first-team All-SEC lineman and two-time All-American (1959 and 1960).

Head Coach Wally Butts of the University of Georgia, center, poses with players, from left, Jimmy Vickers, Frances Tarkenton, Pat Dye and Don Soberdash in Miami on Sunday, December 27, 1959. [AP Photo]

AUBURN UNIVERSITY:  While at Auburn Coach Dye achieved a record of 99–39–4 (71.1% win rate) over 12 seasons. His 99 wins are behind only Mike Donahue and Ralph Jordan for the most in school history. Under Dye’s leadership, the Auburn Tigers won four SEC championships (1983, 1987, 1988, 1989) and Dye became only the fourth coach in SEC history to win three straight (1987, 1988, 1989). He received SEC Coach of the Year honors in 1983, 1987 and 1988.

Rest in Peace, Coach Dye.